More MS news articles for September 2002

Spotlight on MS Learn Online

http://www.nationalmssociety.org/spotlight-mslearnonline.asp

September, 2002

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society is proud to be the nation's premier source of MS information, and offers a variety of educational programs for individuals with MS, their families and friends, and healthcare professionals.

The topic of Thursday's MS Learn Online program is "Today's MS Treatment Options." For years, there were no approved treatments for MS. That changed nearly a decade ago, when the FDA approved Betaseron to treat the most common type of MS: relapsing-remitting. Today, Avonex, Copaxone, and Rebif have also been approved for relapsing forms of MS this type of MS, while Novantrone has been approved for use with some progressive forms of the disease, as well as well as worsening relapsing MS.

Now that we're fortunate enough to have options available, how can people work with their doctors to identify the one that's best for them? This question will be discussed during the live program Thursday, September 19, 2002 at 8:30 pm EST (7:30 pm CST, 6:30 pm MST, and 5:30 pm PST).

Dr. Aaron Miller, chief medical officer and chair of the Medical Advisory Board of the National MS Society, will discuss MS treatment options currently available. Dr. Miller is currently the director of the Division of Neurology at Maimonides Medical Center in Brooklyn, NY, where he is also the director of the MS Care Center.

After his presentation there will be a discussion period during which participants can submit questions via email (MSLearnOnline@nmss.org). People are also encouraged to submit questions in advance.

The MS Learn Online program, which launched 3 years ago, provides up-to-date information on critical MS topics to a world-wide audience via the Internet. Past MS Learn Online programs can be accessed from the MS Learn Online archives of the National MS Society website. (These programs require various streaming media software. For more information, see our Technical Support page.)
 
Programs previously held this year were: Understanding and Controlling Bladder Dysfunction, Moving Forward ... A Program for People Newly Diagnosed with MS, and Myelin Repair: Is It Possible?
 

© 2002 The National Multiple Sclerosis Society